Masters, Williamson take out club's top honours

Leigh Masters and Megan Williamson have earned top honours as the club's best and fairest VFL and VFLW players respectively in 2019.

The awards were announced at last night's presentation night at Seaview Events Centre, with defender Masters winning the Gerry Callahan Medal just two weeks after being named in the VFL Team of the Year.  

The 27-year-old utility averaged 14.2 disposals and 4.3 marks per game this season, playing in every match as one of the side's most important players - his intercept ability and team-first mentality two of his stronger traits.

"I'm absolutely honoured but, at the same time, team success is what drives me," Masters said.

VFL coach Andrew Collins conceded it was Masters' best personal season when announcing the award, prompting the following response from the 2019 Gerry Callahan medallist: "He's probably played me in the forward line the last couple of years, and I've always probably been a backman!" Masters jested to the crowd.

"I've always felt more comfortable down back. I've enjoyed the year. I suppose it probably has been my best season."  

Williamson also received due recognition for a stellar 2019 campaign, laying the eighth-most tackles (88) in the VFLW and averaging 11.5 touches in 14 matches to win the Best and Fairest award ahead of fellow stars Sharnie Whiting and Danica Pedersen. 

The club also had six new members inducted into its coveted Hall of Fame; Maurice Thurston, Michael Ranger, Dianne Ward and players Nick Sing, Nick Meese and Sam Dunell.  


See below the full list of 2019 award winners:


Gerry Callahan Medal (VFL Best and Fairest) - Leigh Masters 

Peter McIntyre Memorial Trophy (VFL 2nd Best and Fairest) - Joel Tippett

Cec Page Memorial Trophy (VFL 3rd Best and Fairest) - Nick Meese

Best in Finals - Nick Ebinger

VFLW Best and Fairest - Megan Williamson

VFLW 2nd Best and Fairest - Sharnie Whiting

VFLW 3rd Best and Fairest - Danica Pedersen

Medical Team Award - Jacinta Reid (VFLW) and Josh Pickess (VFL)

Most Promising Player - Ruby Tripodi (VFLW) and Joel Ottavi (VFL)

Most Improved Player - Eliza Straford (VFLW) and Josh Pickess (VFL)

Coaches Trophy - Megan Williamson (VFLW) and Joel Tippett (VFL)

Players Player Award - Megan Williamson (VFLW) and Jason Pongracic (VFL)

Leading Goal Kicker - Sharnie Whiting (VFLW) and Nick Rodda (VFL)

Club 1864 Award - Jason Pongracic (VFL)

Best Club Person - Gerard Drew

President's Award - John Mitchell







Latest News

2020 VFLW coaching group announced

Williamstown Football Club has finalised its VFLW coaching panel for the 2020 season, with four assistants to support head coach Penny Cula-Reid. 

Read more ...

AFL draft watch: Joel Ottavi

Joel Ottavi established himself at the Seagulls this season after only five games across his previous two seasons at state league level. 

Read more ...

Andy Collins' sporting life

Williamstown Football Club VFL head coach Andy Collins was a special guest on SEN's This is Your Sporting Life.

Read more ...

Nomination of directors

In accordance with the Williamstown Football Club (WFC) Constitution, the club advises the the closing date for nominations for the Board election is Thursday 14th November 2019. 

Read more ...

CGR extend Seagulls partnership

Williamstown Football Club and CGR have entered into a new three-year partnership as the club's exclusive off-field uniform supplier. 

Read more ...

Latest Videos