The Williamstown Football Club entered the 1960's as arguably the most dominant team the VFA had ever seen coming off an era which saw them win five premierships in six years. However, the club was at the crossroads with aging stars mixed with new recruits and young talent to take the club forward into a new era of success.


The early years of the 1960's saw Williamstown make the finals in the first three years, coming close to ultimate glory in 1961 when they were defeated in the Grand Final by Yarraville by ten goals. 1961 also saw the VFA make a radical decision to split the competition into two divisions in an attempt to even out the competition. Williamstown joined the top division with most of the other larger and dominant teams of the era.


1963 saw the club unable to make the finals for the first time in ten years. Undeterred by the previous year's performance, the Seagulls conjured an emphatic turnaround the season following that saw the club into another grand final against Port Melbourne, only to fall short of their 11th premiership flag.


After missed opportunities early in the decade to achieve success, the club then entered a period of concern after disappointing seasons in 1965-66 saw the Seagulls become a shadow of its former self. 1967 saw Williamstown record its worst season in history at the time, 'winning' the wooden spoon and subsequently falling back to second division for 1968.


Looking to bounce back, the side came tantalisingly close to returning to division one, only to go down to Geelong West in the grand final of 1968 by two goals. Although not totally dismayed by the previous year, the club was finally able to achieve the ultimate success from its fourth try of the decade, defeating Sunshine by 20 points in the 1969 Grand Final and thus promoted back into Division One at the beginning of the 1970's. The first's premiership was capped off with premiership wins for both the seconds and thirds.




Season by Season Summaries

1960       1961       1962       1963       1964       1965       1966       1967       1968       1969



     Year           President           Coach           Captain           Best & Fairest            Leading Goalkicker     
     1960      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Ray Smith           Ray Smith       Tom Pelly (42) 
     1961      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Ray Smith      Ray Smith       Keith James (48)
     1962      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Daryl Ward           John Cope       Keith James (40)
     1963      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Daryl Ward           Leo Maloney       Keith James (42)
     1964      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Daryl Ward           Bobby Turner       Keith James (41)
     1965      Arthur Johnson           Gerry Callahan           Daryl Ward           Tom Russell       Jim Jenkinson (29)
     1966      Ron Marrett      Gerry Callahan           Daryl Ward           Jeff Trotman       George Savige (32)
     1967      Ron Marrett      Gerry Callahan           Bob Ware      Ian Nankervis            Eddie Szyszka (54)
     1968      Ron Marrett      Max Papley      Max Papley      Ian Johnston       Eddie Szyszka (61)
     1969      Arthur Johnson      Max Papley      Max Papley      Ken Barnes       Dallas Patterson (58)



     Year       Reserves B&F        Thirds B&F           Best Clubman           Most Consistent        Best 1st Year 
     1960      Doug Kellett           Allan Harris                          G. Clough & A. McAsey
     1961      Neville O'Connor      Ray Bamford                       
     1962      Ken Barnes           Haydn McAuliffe                 A. McAsey       Ray Bamford
     1963      Ray Leonard           Kevin Dooley           George Mazouris           Tom Russell       
     1964      Ray Bamford           Cyril Harris                             
     1965      Jocka Mellis           Cyril Harris                             
     1966      Arthur Lee      John Whittington                        
     1967      Bob Smith      Peter Sonsie                 A. Vosilaitis          Eddie Szyszka
     1968      John Raffle      Gary Craddock      R.Ware             A. Camilleri
     1969      David Utber      Phillip Humphries      R.Smith, T.Raffle, T.O'Mara             R. Percy



     Year           Secretary           Treasurer     
     1960      Stan Whear           Morrie Power     
     1961      Stan Whear           Morrie Power     
     1962      Stan Whear           Morrie Power     
     1963      Stan Whear           Morrie Power     
     1964      Stan Whear           Bob Major     
     1965      Alec Bell           Alf Leaman     
     1966      Alec Bell      Alf Leaman     
     1967      Alec Bell      Alf Leaman     
     1968      Alec Bell      Alf Leaman
     1969      Alec Bell      Alf Leaman


Competition Award Winners

1968 Division Two Best & Fairest - Ian Nankervis

1968 Division Two Leading Goal Kicker - Eddie Szyszka






Latest News

Vale: Lindsay Murphy

Williamstown Football Club is mourning the passing of two-time premiership player, life member and lifelong supporter of the Seagulls, Liandsay Murphy. 

Read more ...

Seagulls Stars have Surgery

Star Seagulls duo Michael Gibbons and Ben Cavarra underwent surgery yesterday to repair injuries sustained over the past few weeks.

Read more ...

Gallant Development team just fall short in decider

Williamstown's development team have just fallen short of pulling off a remarkable Development League grand final win, going down to eventual premiers Casey by two goals yesterday.

Read more ...

Seagulls season ends at hands of Borough

Williamstown's 2017 finals campaign has come to an end at the hands of Port Melbourne, with the Seagulls going down to the Borough by 23 points in yesterday's Preliminary Final.

Read more ...

TEAMS: Squads selected for epic finals double header

Williamstown has named its squads for Sunday's huge Senior and Development finals double headers.

Read more ...

Latest Videos