Season Summary: 1987

Barry Round became only the second player to win both the League and Association best and fairest awards after he won the Liston Trophy in 1987, six years after his Brownlow Medal win. Round emulated the feat of former Williamstown rover Des Fothergill, who won the Recorder Cup in 1941 (renamed the Liston Cup in 1945 and later that same decade the Liston Trophy), a year after his Brownlow success. Whilst Round's effort thrilled all connected with the Club, officials believed the 1987 team was the best fielded by Williamstown in the 1980's and were disappointed it could finish no higher than third place. 

The Seagulls won 11 of their 18 home and away games, leaving them third on the ladder, one win behind second-placed Springvale. This resulted in the 'Town meeting Frankston in the first semi-final and, after trailing significantly for three quarters, Williamstown suddenly found form to add 10 goals to one in the last quarter to win comfortably, 19.15 to 14.14. The irrepressible Rickman kicked five goals for the term, giving him six for the day. Port Melbourne, which had won both home and away games against the Seagulls that season, again proved too good in the preliminary, winning 16.20 to 14.12. The 1987 season marked the end of Mark Fotheringham's brilliant career in the VFA. After making his name at Yarraville, Fotheringham kicked 571 goals in 101 games with Williamstown to give him an aggregate of 928 goals in 174 VFA matches. His final season yielded 66  goals, which earned him equal second place on the VFA list. A deadly kick for goal, especially within 50 metres, Fotheringham left the 'Town to coach Keilor in the Essendon District League.

                                                                            1987 playing list 


                                                                                         Barry Round

                                                                               Mark Fotheringham

                                                        1987 Reserves First semi-final  

Willi Thirds, featuring future senior players Brett Gould, Danny Del Re and Marcus O'Connor


1987 Spalding Cup team, featuring future senior players Matt Bury & Joey Patterson


Latest News

VFLW Gulls name 5 changes for Bulldogs clash

Sophie Van de Huevel returns from Vic Country commitments while Kayla Koropeckyj, Lauren Sulieman, Rebecca Dardengo and Anna Saxton also come into the side.

Read more ...

Henderson to debut, George and Jones back for Bulldogs clash

Lachlan George and Jordan Jones come into the side while Darby Henderson will make his debut as the 23rd man.

Read more ...

Ebinger, Henderson, Dixon, Bartolo push for selection in Community Wrap

Community club football continued over the weekend, as we take a closer look at the 14 players who featured over the weekend.

Read more ...

Bramble signs for two seasons

Williamstown Football Club is delighted to announce that young gun Lachlan Bramble has signed for a further two seasons.

Read more ...

Seagulls unable to stop charging Blues

A second quarter four-goal burst has handed Carlton a 29-point victory against Williamstown in their round 10 clash at IKON Park.

Read more ...

Latest Videos