Season Summary: 1991

The membership of the VFA continued to diminish in 1991, as more clubs departed the league with the struggling Camberwell withdrawing shortly before the start of the season after two consecutive winless seasons and Brunswick-Broadmeadows quitting after the first three rounds. This caused a redraw for the 12 remaining clubs, the fewest in the Association since 1950. Williamstown, for the first time in seven seasons, failed to reach the finals. After the unfurling of the 1990 premiership pennant at home followed by a sound win by six goals over Springvale in the opening game, and then a four-goal victory at Frankston in round 3, the season quickly fell away for the Seagulls with four successive losses to Coburg, Port, Dandenong and Sandringham. Wins at home by ten goals against Box Hill in round 8 and 97 points over Oakleigh (Vinnie Turcinovich 10 goals) in round 10 followed by a 5-goal win at Preston in round 11 revived hopes, but a draw at Prahran in a low-scoring game after being three goals up at three-quarter time in round 12, preceded another run of three defeats to Springvale, Werribee by five points and Frankston by eight points to put the finals out of reach for the first time since 1984. Two wins in the last two home-and-away games at Coburg and at home against Sandringham by 83 points added some respectability to the season for Williamstown to eventually finish seventh with only eight wins, nine losses and a draw, six points and considerable percentage out of the final five. Five of the losses were by eight points or less, and Grant Smith and Jack Aziz missed a large part of the season due to suspensions. 

Rover Saade Ghazi, back from a year in South Australia, was the Club's leading goalkicker with 31 and won the Bert Hodge Memorial Trophy, whilst Rickman managed just 29 in an indifferent season. Ghazi's was the lowest total by a Williamstown player since Jim Jenkinson's 29 majors in 1965. Veteran Bill Swan added further note to his career by winning the Andy Taylor Memorial Trophy as Club best and fairest, an honour he had shared with Round two years earlier. Ghazi was runner-up to Swan. David Ackerly won the Ron James Memorial Trophy for most valuable player. 

Rick Slevison took out the Bill Sheahan Memorial Trophy for best and fairest player in the Reserves from Bill Dooley and Tommy McGowan, while Damien Ferris was leading goalkicker in the Seconds. Adam Hough was awarded the Harold Hosking Memorial Trophy for best and fairest in the under 19's. with Kevin Wilson runner-up. David Patterson was leading goalkicker in the Thirds. Long-serving timekeeper Graeme Crocker was awarded the Bill 'Darkie' Raffle Memorial Trophy for best clubman.

Tony Dullard stepped down as assistant coach and Glen Murphy, coach of the Reserves, retired from playing at the end of the season. The Seconds made the preliminary final in Murphy's first season as coach. 

Some footage of a game between Williamstown and Prahran from 1991 can be seen by copying and pasting the following link into your internet browser:

Tony Hannebery & Joan Kirner unfurl the 1990 premiership flag at the round 1 encounter with Springvale 

                                        1991 playing list


Vinnie Turcinovich kicked 10 goals against Oakleigh at Pt. Gellibrand in June.
Glen Murphy retired as a player after the 1991 season. He was centre-half back in the 1986 premiership team, and also played in the 1985, 1988 and 1989 grand final teams. He played 122 senior games and kicked 40 goals after crossing from South Melbourne in 1983. 

                                                                                                                     1991 Spalding Cup team 

Latest News

Point Gellibrand gets face lift

Coming into the 2019 season and beyond the Williamstown Sporting Ground at Point Gellibrand will take a major facelift.

Read more ...

Seagulls take on triathlon in the road to recovery

The road back both emotionally and physically for Hayden Walters, Christian Buykx-Smith and Jack Dorgan.

Read more ...

Dorgan & Greiser re-sign for 2019

Williamstown Football Club is thrilled to announce the re-signings of Jake Greiser and Jack Dorgan for the 2019 season.

Read more ...

Pickess & Pongracic re-sign for 2019

Williamstown Football Club is thrilled to announce the re-signings of Jason Pongracic and Josh Pickess for the 2019 season.

Read more ...

Coburg duo join the Gulls

Williamstown Football Club is excited to announce the signings of former Coburg Lions Hisham Kerbatieh and Sean Gregory for the 2019 season. 

Read more ...

Latest Videos