Season Summary: 2012


The Bendigo Bombers changed its name to Bendigo Gold in preparedness for the end of its alignment with Essendon at the conclusion of the season, and the Northern Bullants became the Northern Blues and adopted a more Carlton-style jumper in the 10th year of its affiliation with the AFL club.

Meanwhile, home games returned to Williamstown with the completion of the ground refurbishments and the opening of the renovated WL Floyd Pavilion.

New players to join the Club included TAC Cup players Anthony Anastasio and Jack Charleston, and Ben Jolley was appointed captain after the departure of Brett Johnson at the end of 2011. Other players who moved on included Ben Davies, David Stretton, Dane Rampe and Matthew Grossman. Dual best & fairest winner James Wall and Michael Stockdale joined the Club from the Casey Scorpions, while Clinton Proctor returned after four years at Frankston and former West Coast Eagle, Jamie McNamara, moved over from East Fremantle. 

The season opened with a two-point loss at Casey (87-85), a 14-point win at Carlton (84-70) and defeat by Geelong at the first home game since August 2010 by 7 points (85-78). The Seagulls then enjoyed the first win at Eureka Stadium since round 9, 2005, with a 52-point victory over the Roosters (109-57, Justin Sherman best). Two further wins at Sandringham (101-82) in round 5 and at Werribee (110-103, Tom Hill 4 goals, Ben Jolley best) in round 6 saw Williamstown in third place on the ladder.

Four losses and a draw in the next six rounds meant the ‘Town had slipped out of the top eight and a finals spot was in the balance. However, a big victory over Collingwood at Williamstown, 16.22.118 to 11.4.70, in round 15 preceded another four consecutive home-ground wins over Werribee (91-89), Port (56-45), Northern Blues (66-42) and Sandringham (104-38). A narrow four-point victory at Geelong in the last home-and-away game (77-73) saw the Seagulls finish in 5th place with 11 wins, 6 losses and the draw at Frankston.

Victories in the elimination final against Bendigo, 11.17.83 to 10.11.71, and Casey in the first semi-final, 11.9.75 to 5.8.38 (James Wall best), signalled eight consecutive wins for the ‘Town from rounds 15-22 and the two finals. There were two byes during this run of victories. The season came to an end with defeat by Port Melbourne at North Port in the preliminary final, 12.15.87 to 7.11.53.

The Reserves team, which changed names to the Development League in this season, finished undefeated on top of the ladder with eighteen wins, but lost its knockout semi-final to Coburg narrowly, 11.5.71 to 10.7.67, to bow out of the finals. Matthew Cravino was best player and also runner-up in the A. Todd Medal for the VFL Development League best and fairest, after having won it in 2010 and 2011. It was also his last year at Williamstown after seven seasons.

Ben Jolley won his second Gerry Callahan Medal for best and fairest this year, with newcomer James Wall runner-up. Matthew Cravino won his third Bill Sheahan Memorial Trophy for the Development League best and fairest from Michael Fogarty in second place. Jolley was also awarded the Ron James Memorial Trophy for most valuable player for the third year running and fourth time overall. Statistician Damien Carter was voted best club person and received the Bill ‘Darkie’ Raffle Memorial Trophy.

                                                                      2012 senior playing list

                        Anthony Anastasio joined the Club in 2012 from TAC Cup Sandringham Dragons 

Bulldogs-listed Andrew Hooper kicked 3 goals in the round 5 win at Sandringham 

Future Williamstown premiership player & captain, Adam Marcon, in 2012

Another future Williamstown premiership player, Willie Wheeler, pictured in 2012 with Coburg

 Statistician Damien Carter was voted best club person in 2012.


Latest News

Wheeler to play 150th VFL game

Williamstown midfielder Willie Wheeler will this week play his 150th VFL match against Port Melbourne.

Read more ...

VFL squad in for Johnson-Callahan Cup

Williamstown has announced its squad for Sunday afternoon's VFL game against Port Melbourne.  

Read more ...

Catterall completes She Can Coach program

Williamstown VFLW head coach Amy Catterall recently completed AFL Victoria's She Can Coach program.

Read more ...

Metro leagues take a break in our Community Wrap

We had four guys continue their season over the weekend.

Read more ...

1907 Premiership team honoured

Williamstown will wear a replica 1907 premiership jumper against rival Port Melbourne on Sunday.

Read more ...

Latest Videos