Six Seagulls named to VFL Team of the Year


Six Seagulls have been selected into the 2017 VFL Team of the Year, announced at last night's JJ Liston Trophy presentation.


Nick Meese, Adam Marcon, Michael Gibbons, Willie Wheeler, Ben Cavarra and Brett Bewley (pictured above) were all rewarded for their stellar seasons in the blue and gold.


Williamstown's six representatives tied for the equal highest for the 2017 VFL Team of the Year, with arch-rival and Sunday's preliminary final opponent, Port Melbourne, also picking up six.


Ruckman Nick Meese was named to the VFL Team of the Year for the fifth time in six seasons, and his fourth year running as a Seagull. Meese has played every game this season and dominated the competition by accumulating over 1000 hitouts, a perfect example of his high quality play and durability as the #1 Seagulls big man. 


His cousin, Williamstown vice-captain Adam Marcon, was named to his fourth VFL Team of the Year, and third as a Seagull. Marcon picked up where he left off when he spent 2016 on an AFL list at Richmond after a highly successful 2015 campaign with Williamstown, and has averaged 23 disposals, eight tackles and six clearances while averaging almost a goal a game from the midfield.


2016 JJ Liston Trophy winner Michael Gibbons may have fallen just two votes shy of eventual 2017 winner Jacob Townsend, but he was rewarded for another brilliant season with his second Team of the Year selection. Averaging 26 disposals, six tackles, five clearances and almost a goal a game, Gibbons has once again been one of the competition's most prolific and dominant midfielders, also gaining VFL state representation once more earlier in the season.


2016 Gerry Callahan Medallist Willie Wheeler also picked up his second VFL Team of the Year selection in as many seasons, in a year where he hasn't missed a game for the Seagulls. Leading the league in total number of inside 50's, Wheeler has also averaged 23 disposals and seven tackles a game, with his best performance coming against Port Melbourne in Round 14 with 36 disposals, 17 tackles and two goals.


First-year Seagull and elusive small forward Ben Cavarra was selected to his third Team of the Year. The ex-Frankston Dolphin has kicked 32 goals playing predominately as a small forward for the Seagulls, the most at the club for season 2017 so far.


Rounding out Williamstown's six representatives is talented midfielder Brett Bewley, who for the first time was picked for Team of the Year. Bewley has enjoyed a breakout season for the Seagulls, playing all bar two games and being picked for the VFL state team in the process. He has also been invited to the AFL Draft State Combine at the end of the season.


Williamstown Football Club congratulates all six players for their terrific seasons in 2017!



Latest News

Players Voice - with Nikki Wallace

Check out how Nikki Wallace made it to Williamstown after a life time of footy. 

Read more ...

Jake Greiser still chasing the dream

Jake Greiser After a fantastic 2017 that was unfortunately cut short due to injury, Jake Greiser is again showing why he is one of Williamstown’s most important players. And at 22, he still has his eyes set on an AFL career.

Read more ...

Plenty of Seagulls put hand up for selection in Community Wrap

Community club football continued over the weekend, as we take a closer look at the 16 players who featured over the weekend.

Read more ...

Williamstown hold 1980's President's Lunch & Women's Lunch

On a terrible winters day, Williamstown Football Club hosted a special 1980’s themed President’s Lunch before the game against Sandringham.

Read more ...

Williamstown VFLW showcased

On Sunday afternoon during the Channel 7 broadcast of our game against Sandringham, there was a video shown about our VFLW program.

Read more ...

Latest Videos