Season Summary: 1962

The VFA's decision to split into two divisions was deemed a success after it's first year in 1961, with better quality and closer matches being played across both first and second divisions.

The end of the 1961 season also saw a wealth of experience leave the club, with Williamstown champions Ray Smith (205 games, 162 goals) transferring to Cora Lynn and Jack Evans (171 games, 92 goals) departing for Newport as coach, while Bob Jones (130 games, 22 goals), Tom Pelly (63 games, 118 goals) and Col Colquhoun (55 games, 0 goals) were also missing from the 1961 line-up. Daryl Ward was appointed captain in place of Smith, a role he would hold until the end of the 1966 season.

Supporters anxiety levels were tested in the opening three rounds, with a four point loss at home to Yarraville (Keith James 5 goals), a four point win at Oakleigh followed by a two point win at Coburg (James 5 goals). After a 7 goal defeat in the round eight away loss to Port, the team then won eight of the next ten matches to finish third with 12 wins and a draw from 18 games, but only entered the four after the penultimate home-and-away game with a 12-goal win at home against Port (135-63, James and Merv Williams four goals each). This was the Club's tenth consecutive finals appearance, which was a VFA record, eclipsing the nine finals series achieved by Port Melbourne and North Melbourne.

A considerable number of injuries were sustained in the last home-and-away game against Brunswick, forcing the team to play in the first semi-final against a strong Coburg outfit with a much depleted side. Nonetheless, having beaten Coburg twice already that season, Williamstown were confident of victory, but wretched kicking for goal in the first half proved costly. The Seagulls kicked five goals straight in the third term to briefly take the lead and a good display was put on in a close struggle all day before the Seagulls went down by just seven points, 11.12.78 to 10.11.71. Carmichael, Cope and Murphy were best for the 'Town.

Cope won the Andy Taylor Memorial Trophy for best and fairest, from Graham Clough and Don Carmichael. Clough also ran sixth in the JJ Liston Trophy. Keith James booted 40 goals to run equal fifth place on the VFA list. Lindsay Murphy played his 100th senior game for the Club during the season.




Latest News

Qualifying final locked in

The AFL has confirmed that Williamstown's qualifying final against Footscray will be played at VU Whitten Oval this Saturday from 1:00pm.

Read more ...

Tigers too strong for finals-hungry Seagulls

A last quarter surge from Williamstown was ultimately not enough to overcome a fierce Werribee outfit on Saturday night. 

Read more ...

Seagulls name final VFLW squad for 2019

Williamstown has named the squad to play in its final match of the 2019 VFLW season.

Read more ...

Seagulls finish year with optimism

Williamstown's VFLW team may be young on paper, however the growth that all have achieved despite undesirable results has been showcased weekly. 

Read more ...

Round 21 VFL squad selection

Williamstown's side to host Werribee in the final home-and-away game of the season has been selected. 

Read more ...

Latest Videos