Together We Stand Tall



Our Club

Proud Past

Established in 1864, we are one of the oldest and proudest football clubs in Australia,
with a history that spans generations.

Bright Future

Today, we’re writing the next chapter of our storied history.

Together we stand tall


Our roots are firmly planted in our hometown, Williamstown. With a rich maritime heritage, our club is known as the Seagulls.


Our fans bring the passion and energy to our games. They are the heart and soul of our club.


Comprising of dedicated athletes, skilled coaches and tireless support staff, we work together seamlessly to achieve greatness.


Beyond the game, we actively engage with our beloved community. We’re proud to partner with local businesses and support community initiatives.


Since its formation in 1864, 160 years ago 

Williamstown has gone on to win 16 senior VFA/VFL premierships to make us the second-most successful Club in the history of the League, being just one less than our long-time arch-rival, Port Melbourne. The first was in 1907, and the Club has won at least one flag in every decade since, except for the 1910’s, including the FABULOUS 50’s when five pennants were won between 1954 and 1959. Eight premierships were won in the 20-year period between 1939 and 1959, which included a three-year recess for WWII. The Club has also won 15 Seconds/Reserves premierships and 7 in the Under 18/19’s. 

From humble beginnings playing games on the Market Reserve (now Max Robertson Reserve) to the Gardens Reserve (now Fearon Reserve) and then to the current home ground, DSV Stadium, in 1888 following the merger with South Williamstown FC, many famous names have donned the royal blue and gold Seagull jumper. (There was also an earlier merger in 1882 with the Battery United FC). 

From the six Legends in the Club’s Hall of Fame, premiership captain-coach, JJ Liston and Norm Goss Medallist Barry Round, five-time premiership players Gerry Callahan and Ray Smith, VFA leading goalkickers Ron Todd and Ian Rickman and premiership coach Max Papley, through to the equally fabulous 200 senior Club games players in record-holder Ben Jolley, premiership captain Troy West, Liston Medallist Saade Ghazi and champion full-back Tom Russell, these Seagull greats have made the Club a powerhouse in the strongest competition outside of the AFL. 

The Club has also produced other JJ Liston Medallists in Johnny Martin, Brett McTaggart, Michael Gibbons (twice) and Paul Dooley, other Norm Goss Medallists in Tony Pastore, Adrian Fletcher and Michael Gibbons and other VFA leading goalkickers in Mark Fotheringham, Johnny Walker, Alby Linton and Matthew Little. Len ‘Mother’ Mortimer was the first Williamstown player to ever head the VFA goalkicking list in 1905 with a total of 46 goals. Other notable goalscorers include Danny Del-Re, Fred Carpenter, Stan ‘Snowy’ Lawler, Mal Macpherson, Mick Mulligan, Keith James, Dallas Patterson, Patrick Rose, Roy Cullinan and Greg Boxall.

Some other highlights in the history of this great Club include:

  • From 1945 to 1964, a total of 20 seasons, the finals were missed only three times;
  • From 1953 to 1962, the team made the finals every year to become the first VFA club to make ten successive finals appearance;
  • Williamstown played in front of the biggest VFA crowd of all time, the 47,098 at the MCG in 1939 when ‘Town downed Brunswick by 9 points after finishing last in 1938;
  • Two of the Club’s sixteen premierships were won with last-gasp goals – in 1990 by Bill Swan after the Gulls trailed by 34 points early in the last quarter, and in 1949 when Johnny Walker steered one through from a pack on the boundary line with the last kick of the day; 
  • In 1958, Williamstown and Moorabbin became the only teams to feature in a drawn VFA grand final, with ‘Town winning the replay but creating chaos with the wedding plans of captain-coach Gerry Callahan, star centreman Ray Smith and Ladies Committee legend Janet Dooley;   
  • After suffering the ignominy of relegation to Second Division after the 1967 season, under the coaching of superstar, Max Papley, the team rose to the 1968 grand final before winning the premiership in 1969 and then playing off in the First Division grand final the year after, the only Club to do so in the 28-year history of promotion/relegation in the VFA; 
  • Survival from the threat of a forced merger with Werribee FC in 1995;
  • The appearance in Williamstown colours during the alignments with Collingwood and Western Bulldogs of Brownlow Medallists Nathan Buckley, Dane Swan, Shane Woewodin and Jason Ackermanis. Collingwood Brownlow winner, Des Fothergill, had played earlier for the Seagulls in 1941;
  • In the premiership season of 1945, the great Ron Todd created a national goalkicking record when he booted 188 majors for the year, surpassing the previous Club record of 133 goals set by Harry ‘Soapy’ Vallence in 1939; 
  • The formation of a women’s team in 2018, making Williamstown the only standalone VFL club to obtain a licence to compete in the VFLW and which culminated last year in a first finals appearance and also Eliza Straford becoming the first female Seagull to play 50 Club games; and   
  • The rumoured appearance of Ned Kelly for the Club in 1873 when imprisoned on a hulk moored off Pt Gellibrand (all enquiries on this matter to be directed to the Club’s longest-service President, Trevor Monti, please). 

Other great names to have represented ‘Town are Daryl Ward, Colin Wilcox, Jack Evans, Brad Lloyd, Arthur Cutting, Brett Gould, Rick Slevison, Jack Charleston, Sid Wookey, Bob Percy, Leigh Masters, John Fanning, ‘Big’ Bob Jones, Andrew Howlett, Willie Wheeler, Laurie Taylor, Ben Davies, John Ramsay and Lindsay Murphy.  

Some of the early pioneers of the Club were Bobby Gibbs snr (1885-99) and Bobby Gibbs jnr (1907-19), Edward Griffen (1886-97), Ted Alley (1905-15), Walter Warren (1886-1902) and his brother, Ernie Warren (1884-92), William ‘Jasper’ Jones (1884-93), Johnny Fribbs (1886-97), Bert Amy (1908-19), Bert Reitman (1907-14), Arthur ‘Porky’ Sykes (1926-34), Harold Johns (1925-34), Eddie Dellar (1933-45), John ‘Yorky’ Dyson (1890-98) and Alf Worroll (1884-90).  

Celebrating 160 Years Of The Williamstown Football Club

As we celebrate 160 remarkable years, we reflect on the enduring legacy and rich history that have made us an integral part of the Victorian Football League landscape.

DSV Stadium:
Home Nest of the Seagulls

Whether you’re a die-hard supporter, a local business partner, a junior player, or a first-time visitor, we invite you to join us on this incredible journey as we soar to new heights and celebrate the enduring spirit of Australian Rules Football.

Together, we are the Seagulls, 
and together, we stand tall.

Be a Part Of Our Seagulls Family!

Secure Your Membership Today.